BYOB and BYOC

Our family has gathered for a reunion. We thought it would be novel to gather for something other than a funeral or wedding. So waves of relatives have flown in from across the continent.

The Friday wave include die-hard music fans. So I mentioned that blues man

New Nova Scotian Morgan Davis touched souls with his blues and the funny bone with his humour.

New Nova Scotian Morgan Davis touched souls with his blues and the funny bone with his humour.

Morgan Davis was performing Saturday night at The Noodle Guy in Port Williams. Ross, aka the Noodle Guy, is a brilliant pasta artist. I sent out an email that Noodle Guy’s pasta is so perfect it would make Italians weep.

The in-coming family booked a table. Noodle Guy et al reserved the best table in the house for them. It was $40 for three courses and a two-hour concert for 40 people. Diners could bring their own drinks. BYOB.

I was a last-minute addition to the group. I called at 4:20 to see if they could fit me in to the table the family had reserved. Yes. IF I brought my own chair.BYOC.

Our grandfather's travelling chair.

Our grandfather’s travelling chair.

Since this was a family gathering, I brought a chair that had been part of my grandfather’s – their great grandfather’s – dining room set.

It was a brilliant evening. The food was amazing. I started with gnocchi, had shrimp-filled shells in coconut milk for a main and finished with Mrs Noodle Guy’s (aka Erin) strawberry rhubarb pie. Some had seconds.

At the end of the evening, I had to ask two men to hand me the chair beside them. One of the men is a local doctor. He said, “I was told I could come if I brought a chair. It’s over there.”

Welcome to the casual flexibility of Atlantic Canada.

Leave a Reply

